I have a template looking like this:
{| border="1" cellpadding="2" |- |+ '''{{{rack_name| }}}''' |- ! slot !! name !! contact !! customer !! comment |- | 47 || {{{47-name|-}}} || {{{47-contact| }}} || {{{47-customer| }}} || {{{47-comment| }}} |- | 46 || {{{46-name|-}}} || {{{46-contact| }}} || {{{46-customer| }}} || {{{46-comment| }}} |- | 45 || {{{45-name|-}}} || {{{45-contact| }}} || {{{45-customer| }}} || {{{45-comment| }}} |- | 44 || {{{44-name|-}}} || {{{44-contact| }}} || {{{44-customer| }}} || {{{44-comment| }}} |- | 43 || {{{43-name|-}}} || {{{43-contact| }}} || {{{43-customer| }}} || {{{43-comment| }}} |- | 42 || {{{42-name|-}}} || {{{42-contact| }}} || {{{42-customer| }}} || {{{42-comment| }}} |- | 41 || {{{41-name|-}}} || {{{41-contact| }}} || {{{41-customer| }}} || {{{41-comment| }}} |- | 40 || {{{40-name|-}}} || {{{40-contact| }}} || {{{40-customer| }}} || {{{40-comment| }}} |- |}
Which is being called like this:
{{DC Rack | 43-name=[[HW_SWCAR52|SWCAR52]] | 43-contact=[[DC_People#Erik_Vandenbergh|Erik Vandenbergh]] | 43-comment=BGC Belbone internal }}
When I display this in Firefox or Konqueror, all table cells are displayed. When I display this in Internet Explorer (both 6 and 7), only cells with values different from a space are displayed.
Is there a solution/workaround for this problem?
Kind regards,
Herta
When I display this in Firefox or Konqueror, all table cells are displayed. When I display this in Internet Explorer (both 6 and 7), only cells with values different from a space are displayed.
Is there a solution/workaround for this problem?
Simplest way would be to put something other than a space as the default. Does a non-breaking space ( ) display?
On 30/11/2007, Thomas Dalton thomas.dalton@gmail.com wrote:
When I display this in Firefox or Konqueror, all table cells are displayed. When I display this in Internet Explorer (both 6 and 7), only cells with values different from a space are displayed.
Is there a solution/workaround for this problem?
Simplest way would be to put something other than a space as the default. Does a non-breaking space ( ) display?
Non-breaking spaces do the trick. Thanks for the workaround.
Kind regards,
Herta
Hello,
I am doing something simple:
1. put an inputbox to get user input key. 2. select data record by the key from DB and display the fields in a two-column table with field names on left and field values (if key is not in DB, display blanks) inside inputboxes on right side of the table. Allow user to make changes to the inputboxes and save the fields back to DB.
1. A wiki page has been created to display the key inputbox, but I am not clear on how to get the user input and pass it into my SelectDB.php module. 2. A template has been created to display the table with field names on left and field value inputboxes on right, but I don't know how to populate them with the DB select results. I have the template linked inside the key inputbox as a preload page and Mediawiki magically tried to create a page with key as the title using the template.
I had received some helps from a few experts before. I do understand that everybody is busy and my problem can be too trivial to be interesting for most people. However, I really need help and any help is appreciated.
Nelson
Computer Sciences Corporation Registered Office: 2100 East Grand Avenue, El Segundo California 90245, USA Registered in USA No: C-489-59
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a PRIVATE message. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete without copying and kindly advise us by e-mail of the mistake in delivery. NOTE: Regardless of content, this e-mail shall not operate to bind CSC to any order or other contract unless pursuant to explicit written agreement or government initiative expressly permitting the use of e-mail for such purpose. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The inputbox extension uses GET to request an URL whereby parameters for index.php are being passed. It does not interact directly with the Database. Having user-accessible Wikipages write directly into the Database is not a good idea.
You may be able to get somewhere with a creative combination of templates that create links to edit a page's section, and using lst (the labelled section transclusion extension) to pull contents from these pages into your table.
Other than that you will need to write your own extension.
HTH, Boris
On 30-Nov-07, at 9:48 AM, Nelson A Li wrote:
Hello,
I am doing something simple:
- put an inputbox to get user input key.
- select data record by the key from DB and display the fields in a
two-column table with field names on left and field values (if key is not in DB, display blanks) inside inputboxes on right side of the table. Allow user to make changes to the inputboxes and save the fields back to DB.
- A wiki page has been created to display the key inputbox, but I
am not clear on how to get the user input and pass it into my SelectDB.php module. 2. A template has been created to display the table with field names on left and field value inputboxes on right, but I don't know how to populate them with the DB select results. I have the template linked inside the key inputbox as a preload page and Mediawiki magically tried to create a page with key as the title using the template.
I had received some helps from a few experts before. I do understand that everybody is busy and my problem can be too trivial to be interesting for most people. However, I really need help and any help is appreciated.
Nelson
Computer Sciences Corporation Registered Office: 2100 East Grand Avenue, El Segundo California 90245, USA Registered in USA No: C-489-59
This is a PRIVATE message. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete without copying and kindly advise us by e-mail of the mistake in delivery. NOTE: Regardless of content, this e-mail shall not operate to bind CSC to any order or other contract unless pursuant to explicit written agreement or government initiative expressly permitting the use of e-mail for such purpose.
MediaWiki-l mailing list MediaWiki-l@lists.wikimedia.org http://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
Boris,
Thank you for your help. The local extension (see below) has been written following the standards. What I need to learn is the knowledge of the basics - how to get the user input value from the input box ($dataKey) to feed into my extension module. I use the key to retrieve data from database and display them to the user for user updates. I also need to learn how to take the user inputs and pass them to my extension for database update.
<?php
$wgExtensionFunctions[] = "wfMyDataExtension";
function wfMyDataExtension() { global $wgParser; $wgParser->setHook("mydata", "extGetData"); }
function extGetData($dataKey) { .... }
Nelson
Computer Sciences Corporation Registered Office: 2100 East Grand Avenue, El Segundo California 90245, USA Registered in USA No: C-489-59
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a PRIVATE message. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete without copying and kindly advise us by e-mail of the mistake in delivery. NOTE: Regardless of content, this e-mail shall not operate to bind CSC to any order or other contract unless pursuant to explicit written agreement or government initiative expressly permitting the use of e-mail for such purpose. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Boris Steipe <boris.steipe@uto ronto.ca> To Sent by: MediaWiki announcements and site mediawiki-l-bounc admin list es@lists.wikimedi mediawiki-l@lists.wikimedia.org a.org cc
Subject 11/30/2007 12:22 Re: [Mediawiki-l] wikitext-php-web PM
Please respond to MediaWiki announcements and site admin list <mediawiki-l@list s.wikimedia.org>
The inputbox extension uses GET to request an URL whereby parameters for index.php are being passed. It does not interact directly with the Database. Having user-accessible Wikipages write directly into the Database is not a good idea.
You may be able to get somewhere with a creative combination of templates that create links to edit a page's section, and using lst (the labelled section transclusion extension) to pull contents from these pages into your table.
Other than that you will need to write your own extension.
HTH, Boris
On 30-Nov-07, at 9:48 AM, Nelson A Li wrote:
Hello,
I am doing something simple:
- put an inputbox to get user input key.
- select data record by the key from DB and display the fields in a
two-column table with field names on left and field values (if key is not in DB, display blanks) inside inputboxes on right side of the table. Allow user to make changes to the inputboxes and save the fields back to DB.
- A wiki page has been created to display the key inputbox, but I
am not clear on how to get the user input and pass it into my SelectDB.php module. 2. A template has been created to display the table with field names on left and field value inputboxes on right, but I don't know how to populate them with the DB select results. I have the template linked inside the key inputbox as a preload page and Mediawiki magically tried to create a page with key as the title using the template.
I had received some helps from a few experts before. I do understand that everybody is busy and my problem can be too trivial to be interesting for most people. However, I really need help and any help is appreciated.
Nelson
Computer Sciences Corporation Registered Office: 2100 East Grand Avenue, El Segundo California 90245, USA Registered in USA No: C-489-59
This is a PRIVATE message. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete without copying and kindly advise us by e-mail of the mistake in delivery. NOTE: Regardless of content, this e-mail shall not operate to bind CSC to any order or other contract unless pursuant to explicit written agreement or government initiative expressly permitting the use of e-mail for such purpose.
MediaWiki-l mailing list MediaWiki-l@lists.wikimedia.org http://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
_______________________________________________ MediaWiki-l mailing list MediaWiki-l@lists.wikimedia.org http://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
On 30/11/2007, Michael Daly michael_daly@kayakwiki.org wrote:
Herta Van den Eynde wrote:
Non-breaking spaces do the trick. Thanks for the workaround.
That's not really a work-around. That's what IE expects to display tables properly going back at least 8 years.
Mike
If my interpretation of Jim Hu's question ("[Mediawiki-l] IE7 extension textarea problem - just me? css?" dd. 30-Nov) is correct, he's probably suffering the same problem.
If that is expected behaviour for IE, and given that the &nbs; does not screw up the display of the other browsers, would it make sense for MediaWiki to make non-breaking spaces the default? Or is he right in that we can/should fix this ourselves via the css?
Kind regards,
Herta
If my interpretation of Jim Hu's question ("[Mediawiki-l] IE7 extension textarea problem - just me? css?" dd. 30-Nov) is correct, he's probably suffering the same problem.
If that is expected behaviour for IE, and given that the &nbs; does not screw up the display of the other browsers, would it make sense for MediaWiki to make non-breaking spaces the default? Or is he right in that we can/should fix this ourselves via the css?
The default what? The default for a parameter if none is specified is a literal {{{1}}} or similar (which will display in any browser, but isn't really desirable). The default of a space was entered into the wikitext manually, just as the default of a non-breaking space was.
On Dec 1, 2007, at 3:09 PM, Herta Van den Eynde wrote:
On 30/11/2007, Michael Daly michael_daly@kayakwiki.org wrote:
Herta Van den Eynde wrote:
Non-breaking spaces do the trick. Thanks for the workaround.
That's not really a work-around. That's what IE expects to display tables properly going back at least 8 years.
Mike
If my interpretation of Jim Hu's question ("[Mediawiki-l] IE7 extension textarea problem - just me? css?" dd. 30-Nov) is correct, he's probably suffering the same problem.
Good suggestion, but unfortunately didn't work. : ( I should have predicted that, since the earlier post noted that my problem seems to go away if the same textarea is not being displayed inside MW.
Jim
If that is expected behaviour for IE, and given that the &nbs; does not screw up the display of the other browsers, would it make sense for MediaWiki to make non-breaking spaces the default? Or is he right in that we can/should fix this ourselves via the css?
Kind regards,
Herta
===================================== Jim Hu Associate Professor Dept. of Biochemistry and Biophysics 2128 TAMU Texas A&M Univ. College Station, TX 77843-2128 979-862-4054
Try using a non-breaking space instead of a space, it is not regarded to be "whitespace" when the browser renders it.
B.
On 30-Nov-07, at 3:09 AM, Herta Van den Eynde wrote:
I have a template looking like this:
{| border="1" cellpadding="2" |- |+ '''{{{rack_name| }}}''' |- ! slot !! name !! contact !! customer !! comment |- | 47 || {{{47-name|-}}} || {{{47-contact| }}} || {{{47-customer| }}} || {{{47-comment| }}} |- | 46 || {{{46-name|-}}} || {{{46-contact| }}} || {{{46-customer| }}} || {{{46-comment| }}} |- | 45 || {{{45-name|-}}} || {{{45-contact| }}} || {{{45-customer| }}} || {{{45-comment| }}} |- | 44 || {{{44-name|-}}} || {{{44-contact| }}} || {{{44-customer| }}} || {{{44-comment| }}} |- | 43 || {{{43-name|-}}} || {{{43-contact| }}} || {{{43-customer| }}} || {{{43-comment| }}} |- | 42 || {{{42-name|-}}} || {{{42-contact| }}} || {{{42-customer| }}} || {{{42-comment| }}} |- | 41 || {{{41-name|-}}} || {{{41-contact| }}} || {{{41-customer| }}} || {{{41-comment| }}} |- | 40 || {{{40-name|-}}} || {{{40-contact| }}} || {{{40-customer| }}} || {{{40-comment| }}} |- |}
Which is being called like this:
{{DC Rack | 43-name=[[HW_SWCAR52|SWCAR52]] | 43-contact=[[DC_People#Erik_Vandenbergh|Erik Vandenbergh]] | 43-comment=BGC Belbone internal }}
When I display this in Firefox or Konqueror, all table cells are displayed. When I display this in Internet Explorer (both 6 and 7), only cells with values different from a space are displayed.
Is there a solution/workaround for this problem?
Kind regards,
Herta _______________________________________________ MediaWiki-l mailing list MediaWiki-l@lists.wikimedia.org http://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
mediawiki-l@lists.wikimedia.org