Under phase II, deleted articles were retained in the
table of old
versions, and if necessary could have been restored by a sysop
querying the database. (There never was a pretty interface set up
I didn't realize that. I could make delete less destructive, say, by
moving everything to an "archives" table that gets taped off every
now and then.