On Thu, Jan 29, 2009 at 7:29 PM, Platonides <Platonides(a)gmail.com> wrote:
At least for old entries, the summary could contain
to what is being hidden, where did it come from...
Certainly we couldn't automatically publicize old summaries.
On Thu, Jan 29, 2009 at 7:34 PM, Jason Schulz <JSchulz_4587(a)msn.com> wrote:
When people know that rev X was removed at time Y,
trolls go to the old xml
dumps, find, and post the content, as I believe has happened in the past.
It's much easier to do that with a public log.
This was arguably a legitimate reason for oversight, but for
rev_deleted it no longer works. Anyone can get a list of the articles
and timestamps of all deleted revisions under the new system, logged
or no. The only reason I could see to keep it secret is to prevent
people from easily figuring out who deleted which revision and when --
and I don't see any justification for that.