[Foundation-l] phishing with wikipedia?

Mohamed Magdy mohamed.m.k at gmail.com
Fri Mar 13 09:18:18 UTC 2009

2009/3/13 Pedro Sanchez <pdsanchez at gmail.com>

> Should someone handle this?
> http://www.blackwikipedia.org/
> BlackWikipedia is a nonprofit private organization to support WMF, the
> Foundation working to maintain and develop the free online
> encyclopedia, Wikipedia. Wikipedia is constantly looking for donors as
> you can see in the banner top of each wikipedia.org page, in order to
> support the huge costs of maintenaince and adminsitration. Now it's
> posible for any user, throught BlackWikipedia, participate supporting
> WMF, without having to make a donation.
> ¿How's that possible? Income generated by Black Wikipedia ads, minus
> the cost of maintenance and administration for servers, will be used
> by the WMF with ordinary donations. Therefore, each person using
> BlackWiipedia is directly participating in Wikipedia supporting.
> That's a translation from http://www.blackwikipedia.org/es/wiki/Portada:
Assuming their good faith, they will change the domain name (and the logo)
into something else if someone approached them.  I don't see a problem here
except that they should clarify that they aren't affiliated with the WMF
(nothing that binds them to send WMF any earnings etc).

More information about the foundation-l mailing list