On Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 11:54 AM, Tim Starling wrote:
On the page move form, a checkbox is shown,
checked by default, labelled
"update any redirects which point to the original title".
Is there any good reason this shouldn't always be done, with no option to skip it?
See this merge scenario:
You do a deleting move of A to B. All redirects to A are changed to B.
You restore B. You do a move_redir from B to A. All redirects to B are
changed to A, *as well as all redirects to A which were already updated
to point to B*.
As to why wouldn't you start by moving B to A, it replaces an edit
operation (not always rollback) with a move one.
(and yes, if you can delete and restore, you should be able to do this
in one action, any reason for not having Special:MergeHistory enabled?)
Tim, I suppose that when redirect fixer edits a redirect only page
normal users aren't allowed to move over it any more?