1) Is there any way to know if I have other sessions open and close them (like in Gmail)? I used another computer and I don't remember if Iogged out.
2) Why when I go to the Watchlist or any other page requiring to be logged in, I am not redirected to the login screen? Maybe there is a hidden reason for not showing directly the login screen.
Nothing life-threatening in any case.
Thanks Micru
On Sat, Aug 31, 2013 at 7:41 AM, David Cuenca dacuetu@gmail.com wrote:
- Is there any way to know if I have other sessions open and close them
(like in Gmail)? I used another computer and I don't remember if Iogged out.
Not a perfect answer for this but my understanding of the way the sessions work at the moment is that you can force other sessions closed by logging out. If you log out in one place you will be logged out in all places (this remembering is dredged up from a discussion months ago but I just tested it and it does seem to hold true :) ). Obviously that doesn't help the 'see if you have other sessions' problem but if you are ever concerned could work well. It still means you can log IN to multiple sites just once you click log out it ends all sessions.
James Alexander Legal and Community Advocacy Wikimedia Foundation (415) 839-6885 x6716 @jamesofur
On Sat, Aug 31, 2013 at 10:41 AM, David Cuenca dacuetu@gmail.com wrote:
- Is there any way to know if I have other sessions open and close them
(like in Gmail)? I used another computer and I don't remember if Iogged out.
Not yet. There is an extension Extension:SecureSessions that implements this, and hopefully will be deployed in the future (it's not ready for deployment yet, since it needs more development).
On Sat, Aug 31, 2013 at 10:45 AM, James Alexander jalexander@wikimedia.org wrote:
Not a perfect answer for this but my understanding of the way the sessions work at the moment is that you can force other sessions closed by logging out. If you log out in one place you will be logged out in all places (this remembering is dredged up from a discussion months ago but I just tested it and it does seem to hold true :) ). Obviously that doesn't help the 'see if you have other sessions' problem but if you are ever concerned could work well. It still means you can log IN to multiple sites just once you click log out it ends all sessions.
Also not (entirely) accurate. In MediaWiki core, logging out will only clear your current session, not all sessions. Only in CentralAuth will logging out do such a thing. Why such functionality exists and is in contrast to core functionality is beyond me.
*-- * *Tyler Romeo* Stevens Institute of Technology, Class of 2016 Major in Computer Science www.whizkidztech.com | tylerromeo@gmail.com
Thanks for your answers! Then I think I will change the password and hope that that will close the other sessions... And if not even that works, then I will just cross my fingers...
Micru
On Sat, Aug 31, 2013 at 11:46 AM, Tyler Romeo tylerromeo@gmail.com wrote:
On Sat, Aug 31, 2013 at 10:41 AM, David Cuenca dacuetu@gmail.com wrote:
- Is there any way to know if I have other sessions open and close them
(like in Gmail)? I used another computer and I don't remember if Iogged out.
Not yet. There is an extension Extension:SecureSessions that implements this, and hopefully will be deployed in the future (it's not ready for deployment yet, since it needs more development).
On Sat, Aug 31, 2013 at 10:45 AM, James Alexander < jalexander@wikimedia.org> wrote:
Not a perfect answer for this but my understanding of the way the
sessions
work at the moment is that you can force other sessions closed by logging out. If you log out in one place you will be logged out in all places
(this
remembering is dredged up from a discussion months ago but I just tested
it
and it does seem to hold true :) ). Obviously that doesn't help the 'see
if
you have other sessions' problem but if you are ever concerned could work well. It still means you can log IN to multiple sites just once you click log out it ends all sessions.
Also not (entirely) accurate. In MediaWiki core, logging out will only clear your current session, not all sessions. Only in CentralAuth will logging out do such a thing. Why such functionality exists and is in contrast to core functionality is beyond me.
*-- * *Tyler Romeo* Stevens Institute of Technology, Class of 2016 Major in Computer Science www.whizkidztech.com | tylerromeo@gmail.com _______________________________________________ Wikimedia-l mailing list Wikimedia-l@lists.wikimedia.org Unsubscribe: https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/wikimedia-l, mailto:wikimedia-l-request@lists.wikimedia.org?subject=unsubscribe
That will work. Password changes trigger a token reset.
wikimedia-l@lists.wikimedia.org