"Theresa Knott" <theresaknott(a)gmail.com> wrote
I take this to
mean that registered users are also blocked if their IP
address is blocked.
Yep that's exactly what happens.
Is this desirable? Can it be changed?
Personally i would like the option to be able to unblock registered
users if thier find their IP blocked without unblocking everyone else
I have no idea if it's possible though.
I'm sure I recall someone saying it should be, it's simply a matter of
giving a dev sufficient time and coffee to get it done :-)
Admins should bear in mind collateral damage like this
blocking. Shared IPs should be dealt with by reverting. Blocking
should only be used in emergency situations and the block should be
short. An hour is usually enough IMO. I know you all know this already
but it doesn't hurt to remind ourselves now and then.
Don't we have a standard notice which we can put on shared-ip pages to
notify admins when they check on vandals?
Maybe we could leverage that a bit...